Hello from Sweet Girl Designs

Hello, my name is Kristie, but some of you may know me from Instagram and YouTube as sweetgirldesigns.  I’m 30 year old Canadian with a serious addiction to Project Life.  I’ve been scrapbooking since high school but took a serious hiatus during university and my first years as an elementary school teacher.  When I was actively scrapbooking, I mostly focused on documenting travel adventures.  My friend, Tara, introduced me to Project Life about a year ago and I knew instantly that I would love it!

I’ve always been passionate about documenting the everyday with photos and memorabilia and Project Life was my answer.  Pregnant at the time with my daughter I knew it would be the way I would record her life’s moments and our adventures as a family of three.  That’s where the name, sweetgirldesigns, comes from.  Currently I am documenting her life using weekly 12×12 layouts.

When I started Project Life I thought that I needed every core kit ever made.  I started by raiding Tara’s stash, buying core kits from Michael’s and trading 1/3 of kits with other fanatics on Facebook groups.  My collection grew and grew and even though I was completing layouts I found that I wasn’t really using my huge stash of Becky Higgins brand cards.  Instead I was picking from my kit subscription cards.  Not only did I buy all kinds of core kits, but I fell hard for Project Life and also started subscribing to two kit clubs – Studio Calico and Gossamer Blue.

I think it’s so important for everyone to go on their own Project Life journey if you will.  Different things work for different people.  It took me awhile to find a method that worked for me but now that I have it goes pretty quickly.  I love the creative process of Project Life and I embellish heavily!  That’s my choice and that’s what I love.  Styles change too!  Even though I’ve only been doing Project Life for about a year – it’s amazing how much my process and style has changed.  If I’ve learned anything in that first year, its that there is no right way.  Do what works for you!

Thank you for visiting our new “creation” and I hope you check back frequently to see our latest layouts, mini projects and product hauls.  Be sure to check out our links to social media as well.

DSC_0008
xoxo Kristie
Leave a Reply

