Project life// week 22/2015

I subscribe to Studio Calico’s project life kit, and have since last May. I went into it not being sure if it would be the right fit for my crafting style, but after a year I think I can safely say that it’s only helped to improve my style. I love that it’s a bunch of items I wouldn’t normally buy myself, and that it’s always a challenge to look at everything and say “how am I going to use this with my style?”. 

On Monday I received my June Galileo kit (video to come of the unboxing of it!) and was so excited that I started  getting my cards laid out immediately. 

As you can see below the biggest card that called to me was this Green June 4×6– and it’s not even part of the 4×6 cards for the actual kit. It’s just the card that has information about the kit on the back. I really hope, though, that Studio Calico continues to keep their information card looking like this. 

I wanted to keep this card really simple, and so used it as my weekly title card and used white and black. Very basic! But I find it pops so much because of how basic it is.  

  Using the green June card really challenged me to step outside the box with my color choices this week. I’m not usually a fan of yellow, but I just love the size of the alphas that came in the kit this month, and so used the white and yellow ones to give some more color interest for my cards. This Snow White one is one of my favorites! I like how I mixed the stamps and the stickers. The background 4×6 is from the Galileo paper pack and the 3×4 on top is from a gossamer blue kit (not sure which one). And then some fun ephemera (Galileo kit), washi (arrow One is Close to my Heart), yellow washi and arrow clip are both freckled fawn.   

This card is the top of a flip up card (underneath are just photos) that I used my fuse to adhere it to the page protector. At first I stamped the “love” on the plastic page protector, but it started to wear off so I ended up stamping it on the picture. The alpha stickers are on the page protector though.   

I LOVE this soft peach card that came in one of my first SC kits last year (I can’t remember which one) and I’ve been saving it for a while. The happy wood veneer is colored with a Stampin up! Ink and the heart with “this” is from the Galileo kit.

  I have stamped the white with my whisper white from Stampin Up! I had been looking for a white staz-on at Michaels my last few trips, but they never had any so I decided to try this ink and it seems to work. I just had to let it dry a bit longer than normal because it’s a craft ink. last week I was busy looking for labels on Pinterest and found this set that I love! It took me a while to cut them all out, but I am very pleased with them so it was worth it. You can find the link for them here  I love gold! And so i was excited to see this card with gold foil on it! The sequins are from Close to my Heart and I was super excited to find them because they are already backed with glue dots! So putting them on is super easy.

   This is another top of a layered pocket page that I adhered with my fuse. Again I just LOVE those alphas!   I picked up another Cirque PL Kit from studio calico for $10 at the end of May and these lovely sequins and stars came with it! Just a small shaker card as I wanted them to stay at the bottom of the card and not travel up. And again those lovely labels I cut out! 

And here are the finished pages:

   
 

How is your project life going this week? 

Happy crafting!

Tara

Leave a Reply

